Indie Block Party: Top Tips

I’ve been wrapped up in writing/editing/rewriting all week so my final 2 posts fell by the wayside. 😦

Poor little neglected posts.

So, I’m combining the last 2 posts.

Top Writing Tip

“Better to write for yourself and have no public, than to write for the public and have no self.”
― Cyril Connolly

You’re the only person who can bring the characters in your head to life and tell their story, so write the story that needs to be written and let all of the other details fall into place later.

My favorite writing resources:

The Bookshelf Muse: Emotion Thesaurus, Character Traits Thesaurus, Physical Attribute Thesaurus, Weather & Earthly Phenomena Thesaurus, Color, Textures and Shapes Thesaurus, Setting Thesaurus, Symbolism Thesaurus—if you need to add details and variety to your descriptions, this place is awesome!

Grammar Girl: Fun grammarly articles.

Top Social Media Tip

Every social network has its quirks, and as authors, we’re usually on at least 3 or more networks. Choose the ones that are a best fit for your personality and respect each network for what it is–don’t expect Twitter to conform to the habits you developed on Facebook.

If you’re unsure of what works best on a social network, ask around. There is almost always another writer around willing to give you a few pointers and then you’ve also made a new writing friend!

My favorite social media resources:

Search Engine Journal: They have lots of resources for blogs and social media, here’s an article on getting retweeted more often.

Twitter Tips for Authors from Indie Author News

That’s it for the Indie Block Party Blog Hop

I’ll be doing my rounds this weekend and catching up with everyone. You all have been amazing and I’ve learned a lot. Thanks to Dawna and Fel for hosting such a great hop. View the links to other participants.

Indie block party small

2 thoughts on “Indie Block Party: Top Tips

  1. Social media remains an interesting challenge. I feel the most comfortable with Facebook, so I have noticed I am using that more and more.
    Twitter and I don’t get along, so although I have an account, I never do anything with it. But maybe that will change someday.

    It was lovely to meet you at this blog hop! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

