The Fortune of Being a Writer

celtic-shamrock-md
It has been such a crazy month, I don’t even know where to begin, but I feel that I need to take a few moments to reflect on the ups and downs of preparing my first book for publication.

It hasn’t been the smoothest process–a kidney stone, worst migraine I’ve ever had (including the first time I’ve experienced aura symptoms–quite freaky), a crazy schedule at work, and today I burned the crap out of my hand with the cappuccino machine. It hasn’t blistered, but it’s red and painful from my wrist to the tips of my fingers.

All of that while trying to organize my own blog tours, incorporate edits and format Fractured Legacy, and get all of the promos down to prepare for October 22, when my baby goes out into the world.

Yet despite all of the crazy, I feel fortunate!

Fortunate to have a family and friends who have never questioned my desire to be a writer. My family has supported my dream since I was a kid and wrote my first ghost story. Friends have always encouraged me to do what I love. And even my co-workers, yes I’ve told them all about it as well, have thrown in their support. I don’t know how I’ve found such a great network of people in my personal life, but I’m grateful.

I’m also fortunate to have made so many friends in the writing world. Bloggers, readers, writers–you all are amazing!

I’m organizing my own events and blog tours, since despite having a day job, I simply don’t have the money to hire someone. I haven’t been a perfect tour organizer, but I’m learning, and I’m so glad these bloggers are taking a chance on a first-time author. I have enjoyed working with all of you, and I hope I can repay your kindness in the future.

So far ARC readers are enjoying my book, and I’ve been blown away by some of the responses. I’d like to thank everyone for their feedback and suggestions–some of them make me smack myself in the face, but they’ve all helped me learn and improve the story. 🙂

Who knows what the bank statement will look like after all of this, but I’ve found my fortune in doing something I love. Sometimes it’s stressful, crazy, and hectic, but I have learned a lot and made some great friends. Hopefully the process for book #2 will be a bit smoother, but only time will tell.

Thanks for joining me on this journey, and following along with my sappy post.

❤ Skye

 

 

One thought on “The Fortune of Being a Writer

Leave a Reply

