December #IWSG and #ROW80 Update

Click the image to view the participant list!

Even with today marked on my calender, I didn’t get today’s post written up ahead of time, so here goes!

Welcome back IWSG members (if you’re here for my ROW80 update all of my stats will follow at the bottom of this post).

November went too fast! And now that I have one book on the market and have begun writing two others, the chaos never ends. I feel like I’m never doing enough, especially on the marketing side (UGH!). I feel like those performers with all of the spinning plates on poles…

Something like that, anyway. :p I’m sure almost everyone here can relate.

Last month, I participated in NaNoWriMo and won with 50,346–so that’s where a huge chunk of my time went. Then there’s trying to build a Street Team, connecting with book bloggers, connecting with other authors & supporting giveaways and events. I love it all, but WOW, I need to find a better way to manage my time and keep track of everyone and everything.

My biggest insecurity, by a mile is writing in 2 genres. I’ll be continuing my Paranormal Urban Fantasy series–I’ve always been completely in love with paranormal, so that genre feels like home. But I’m also writing a BDSM Romance that has been swimming around in my head begging to be written since June. Talk about intimidating!

I’m feeling my way around working in both genres at nearly the same time with continued marketing for Fractured Legacy and forming connections for the upcoming romance.

Anyone have similar experiences?

 

 

#ROW80

What am I working on?

Book 1: Beyond the Divide (Paranormal, Urban Fantasy) 9959 words–poor thing hasn’t gone anywhere since the first week of November

Book 2: Bound and Unbroken (BDSM Romance) 40,515 words

November Goals–wrap up

Writing

Average Words per day: 1,678

Current Total for NaNoWriMo 50,346

Well, I pulled off the NaNoWriMo minimum, I had hoped for more this month, but progress is progress.

Non-Writing Goals

Do non-writing goals exist around the holidays? Seems like there’s less time for anything, but I did lose 10 lbs.

December Goals

  1. Get Bound and Unbroken to beta readers, and work on rewrites.
  2. Get at least another 20k added to Beyond the Divide.
  3. Non-Writing: Lose another 10 lbs.

ROW80Logocopy
A Round of Words in 80 Days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

We are all different and we all have different demands on our time.  Why should we all have the same goal?  The simple answer is that we shouldn’t.  If you want to be a writer, then you have to be able to roll with the punches and adapt to your changing circumstances.  If that means changing your goals when your life blows up, so be it.  ROW80 is the challenge that champions the marriage of writing and real life.

#ROW80

4 thoughts on “December #IWSG and #ROW80 Update

  1. Writing in too many genres can be rough — but it was rougher in the old days. With traditional publishing, people would push you to write only one book in each series or genre, and see what sold. (Because until you sold that first book to a publisher, there was no point in writing a second). But for someone like me (who likes a wide variety of things) that means I ended up with a huge number of first books, all of which I need to follow up on. It’s overwhelming.

    But two genres (and somewhat related genres at that — both with a romance element, both a little dark) should be doable — and should keep things interesting for you. So just take it one step at a time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

