Tis the Season #ROW80

Christmas so close! I can pretend to be excited, but it’s just another holiday. Does that make me Scrooge-like? No decorations or big plans for me, and I wouldn’t really notice that the holiday was so close if I didn’t have to go to the store to buy food and nearly get run over by all of the people who are running around like crazies.  Yep, I think I’ve become Scrooge… 

So, I’ll just stay home and write! I did find out that thanks to the holidays I’ll be off work for 17 days!! So there is some excitement in the air.

What am I working on?

Book 1: Beyond the Divide (Paranormal, Urban Fantasy) 9959 words

Book 2: Bound and Unbroken (BDSM Romance) 51,190 words

I’m mostly rewriting lately, trying to add in all of the details and fix inconsistencies before I write the final chapters. It seems like the most grueling part, especially since I’m apparently not a very sensory oriented person–I have to think about those things more than anything else.  If you’re interested in reading a snip of Bound and Unbroken, I have a short teaser for Snippet Sunday and Weekend Writing Warriors as the top post for today.

December Goals

Writing

  • Finish this draft of Bound and Unbroken and send it off to betas by December 29th.
  • Finish the cover so it’s ready for the January reveal to be hosted by Kinky Book Klub on January 21, 2014.  Anyone who might be interested in participating is welcome to sign up.
  • Return to Beyond the Divide while Bound is with betas.

As part of my blogging plan for the new year, I’d like to start hosting anyone in the writing industry (bloggers, writers, or service providers) though interviews or guest posts every Thursday. If you’d like to participate, you can sign up here.

ROW80Logocopy
A Round of Words in 80 Days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

We are all different and we all have different demands on our time.  Why should we all have the same goal?  The simple answer is that we shouldn’t.  If you want to be a writer, then you have to be able to roll with the punches and adapt to your changing circumstances.  If that means changing your goals when your life blows up, so be it.  ROW80 is the challenge that champions the marriage of writing and real life.

#ROW80

2 thoughts on “Tis the Season #ROW80

  1. me too – no decorations, just peace and quiet to do ‘me time’ which will prob. be writing and reading (have new books piled up) I keep away from shops this time of year, not as nimble on my feet as I was – and the crowds ! well!… happy holidays:)

    Like

  2. Nahh, you’re not a Scrooge. I’m off today and tomorrow, so I hit the grocery stores today because finding something to eat on a holiday like Christmas means you better hope the good gas station/convenience store is open — and that you can be pretty imaginative about your culinary choices.

    Though, shopping today just reinforced why I usually like to go shopping after I get off work. There are almost never any crowds at 3am.

    I work on Christmas Day (heck, I’m going to be working 8 days in a row without a break, thank you holiday season…) but I don’t go in until later in the day so I’ll get to have some quiet time at home and that’s going to be pretty nice. A good low-key holiday all ’round and I’m pretty happy with that.

    Hope you have a good, peaceful Christmas and a happy New Year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

