Tuesday Takeover: Ginny of Gins Book Notes

I’m introducing a new regular column on the blog–Tuesday Takeover–where I’ll feature someone from the indie writing community. Authors, book bloggers, and service providers are all welcome to participate!

My first guest is Ginny a book blogger and service provider from Gins Book Notes.

Thanks for joining me Gin! Can you briefly introduce everyone to who you are?

Hi everyone! (waves crazily). Thanks Skye for letting me visit your wonderful site today.  I’m Ginny aka Gin’s Book Notes. I enjoy books, design, art, and organizing. Yep, I proudly wave my nerd flag. 🙂

I spend my time reading, writing book reviews, promoting authors, and designing book covers, video book trailers, and promotional graphics. When I’m not doing those things…snort…I enjoy watching cheesy movies with the hubs and spending time with my 5 dogs and 2 cats.

LOL, sounds like we would get along well should we ever meet in real life 🙂
Why did you start Gins Book Notes?

I really wanted a blog and tried a few different things before realizing that I am somewhat of a private person. I didn’t enjoy posting pictures of my home remodeling projects and craft projects all over the blogosphere. During one of my “breaks” from unsuccessful blog attempts I was reading Chasing Justice by Danielle Stewart and felt compelled to contact her and let her know how much I liked her book. She encouraged me to leave a review and join her street team and as they say “the rest is history”. I had no idea how important reviews were or that there was this whole group of amazing book lovers out there that I could actually get to know and love. It truly is wonderful and I now know that the secret to having a blog you love is to blog about your passion(s). For me that is books.

What is your favorite part of working with authors?

Their sincere appreciation for your help in sharing their books with others.

How did you get started designing covers?

My background is in marketing but I have always loved design, digital scrapbooking, and playing around in photoshop and other computer programs. Things have just progressed and it seems that all the bits and pieces of my life have combined into this wonderful path that I am now on. I still have a lot to learn and I’m currently taking some courses to help me get to where I want to be with my design skills. I am so very thankful for the opportunities that I’ve been given and for the amazing support that I’ve received.

What book are you reading now?

Until the End of the World by Sarah Lyons Flemings….it is A-MA-ZING!

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Blah….I can’t answer this one. I love too many. I know that is a lame answer, so I will try. Let’s go with a classic. I love Nathaniel Hawthorne’s writing. Young Goodman Brown is my favorite. I love the symbolism of his writing.

Do you have any advice you’d like to share with those in the writing industry?

Be kind…to yourselves and to others. Remember that you will never make everyone happy and that it is a losing battle if you try. Be yourself and stay true to the voices in your head. 🙂

If authors would like to work with you, what’s the best way to get into contact with you?

You can email me through my website (http://ginsbooknotes.com), email me directly (gin at ginsbooknotes.com), or message me on my FB page https://www.facebook.com/GinsBookNotes

Blitz Round

Favorite superhero: Wolverine

Favorite place to read: Tub

Paperback, hardcover, or eBook? All the above

Salty or sweet? Salty followed by sweet followed by salty…lol.

Favorite sound: My husband playing guitar.

Pet Peeve: “No copyright infringement intended” added to youtube videos…ugh…don’t get me started.

Thanks, Gin, for being my first guest in this series! It was a pleasure getting to know a little more about you.

Contact info

Website: http://ginsbooknotes.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/ginsbooknotes

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GinsBookNotes

If you’d like to participate in a Tuesday Takeover, fill out the form here! Posts will be scheduled in the order that I receive completed post information.
6 thoughts on “Tuesday Takeover: Ginny of Gins Book Notes

    1. I wasn’t really sure if Wolverine was considered a superhero or a mutant. I guess he is a superhero mutant but he’s my fav. for sure. 🙂 Love of reading came from this old witch that I used to live with in the forest. Just kidding. My mom, who by the way is the author of the question, always read to me and created a reading monster.

      Like

Leave a Reply

