Tuesday Takeover: Helen from Kinky Book Klub

I’m super excited to continue my guest series by welcoming Helen from Kinky Book Klub to my blog for an interview. Kinky Book Klub is currently helping me with my upcoming Bound and Unbroken cover reveal, and Helen has been very helpful and supportive.

Thanks for joining me Helen! Can you briefly introduce yourself?

Hi, I’m Helen from Kinky Book Klub, I’m a 43 year old married mum of one who occasionally pretends she’s a runner but would much rather be curled up with a good book. My day job is helping authors self publish their own books.

Why did you start Kinky Book Klub?

Because a friend introduced me to book blogging I’m a voracious reader, and my favourite reads are smutty books. To be able to share that with others is a dream, and I’ve made some great friends as a result.

What is your favorite part of working with authors?

Helping them make their dream come true. As an author myself I know how important reviews and feedback are, and just how hard it is to promote your books. By working with authors I get to share in that process. I also have some amazing Facebook chats with authors around the world about anything and everything. There’s just something special about working with authors.

In addition to running the blog, and helping other authors, you also write non-fiction. Can you tell us a little about your business books? And are you planning on any new ones?

My most recent book was about my four year journey from non runner to completing my first ever marathon in London early last year. Most of the books I write are how to guides, so how to publish your own book, how to use Twitter, etc.

I’m hoping to write a children’s book this year and get out of the non-fiction genre. I’m aiming at an audience of 11-13 year olds, and hope eventually to work up to grown up books.

What book are you reading now?

That changes on a daily basis! It’s the 2nd of Jan as I write this and I’ve already finished five books this year. I’ve recently finished Raw by Belle Aurora, Saving Stella by Eliza Brown, A Tragic Wreck (Beautiful Mess #2) by T.K Leigh, Ancient Hunger by Arden Aoide, Draw Me In by Megan Squires and Wild Heart by Jennifer Culbraith.

Is there anything in particular that draws you to read a book by a new author?

A kick ass book description and a decent cover. Sell me the book, I read pretty much anything other than paranormal but even then you can often tempt me by mention of tattoos!
I have eclectic tastes, and am a very fast reader, so I try and find books that don’t fit the norm. There are a lot of similar book plots out there at the moment, so if you can sell me the plot for something new then I’m likely to be interested.

Do you have any advice you’d like to share with those in the writing industry?

Edit, proofread and proofread again. As an author you should never send work out that isn’t proofed and edited. I’ve had so many ARC copies in the last few months that contained errors or even glaring formatting issues. I have to say some of the worst examples have come from publishers rather than self published authors. Bad proofreading or editing can kill your book, and not all reviewers are fair. That also means you need a bloody strong backbone. Just accept that not everyone will like your work, ignore those that don’t unless they are all giving the same constructive feedback, and listen to the readers who give genuine feedback.

Be everywhere you can on social media, Facebook, Twitter, have a blog and newsletter and have a mailing list. You must put your books on Goodreads, even if they don’t yet have a cover yet and are just planned in your head. Acknowledge your readers, if they leave reviews on Goodreads like them or comment on them.

Make friends with the book blogs, they can be hugely influential in helping you promote your book. A lot of them are booked up three months in advance, so if you’re thinking of running blog tours or cover reveals get them booked early to maximise opportunities.

A lot of Facebook blogs, mine included, welcome author takeovers, it’s a great way to meet and interact with fans.

And my personal peeve – if your book has a cliffhanger then warn me in the book blurb!

If authors would like to work with you, what’s the best way to get into contact with you?

Via the blog http://www.kinkybookklub.co.uk or email: info@kinkybookklub.co.uk

Blitz Round

Favorite superhero: Batman (Dark Knight)

Favorite place to read: Cuddled up in my bed or on a sunbed in the sun

Paperback, hardcover, or eBook? – Kindle every time!

Salty or sweet? Depends on the mood, I do have chocaholic tendencies though

Favorite sound: My daughters laugh

Pet Peeve: Cliffhanger endings in books

Thanks for joining me, Helen! And to all of the authors and readers, please check out her page! I can speak from experience in saying that she is awesome and really helpful!

Contact info
Website | Twitter | Facebook

Leave a Reply

