How do you manage to balance everything?

I get asked this question in almost every other interview, but I never have any more insight into how to answer it. The truth is, I have no idea how I manage to balance everything–and most of the time, I don’t.

There are always sacrifices to be made, and for the last few weeks the sacrifice has been blogging. I hated to do it, but at the same time, I was so busy that by the time I found time to sit down and write a blog article, it would have been nothing but grumbling snark. There’s a time and place for that, but not every blog post.

I have a lot of respect for people who have kids and jobs and still manage to blog and write–you all are amazing!! I lack the kids, but I have ferrets and a husband to care for, along with a laundry list of other things biting into my time.

I’ll try to keep it short, but here’s the gist of it:

  1. I published Bound and Unbroken, and had a book tour for which I had to provide info, interviews, etc. and tend to giveaways.
  2. I work a day job in an office and we’re getting ready for our annual conference next month, so I have ads to coordinate with about 40 companies, a newsletter to edit/format, tons of promotional material to design and mail, and a 40 page conference program to organize. All while answering phones, ordering supplies, managing the website and social media accounts, and making sure that member directories are up to date. It’s like 3 full-time jobs rolled into one (in fact it is, since I’m now in charge of my original responsibilities, as well as the responsibilities of 1 full-time and 2 part-time staff who left)–and thanks to bureaucracy and budget cuts, I have to do it all in less than 28 hours a week.
  3. I also have my own business with Jamberry Nails to coordinate and market, and I’ve run parties for most of the last 4 weeks.
  4. I’m a grad student, and all of my 15 week classes are condensed into 10 weeks, so everything tends to get piled in the last few weeks of the semester (2 weeks left!!!).
  5. I have a Hubby and ferrets to care for–speaking of which, the carpet sharks need food.

Sorry I haven’t been around to comment or converse, but it’s not always feasible. I do tend to long onto Facebook or Twitter at least once a day but I don’t even chat there as much as I used to. There’s too much to do, and too little time, but if it all pans out, the work now should mean that in a few months things will be more stable and I’ll have more time for the things I want to do.

That is the plan anyway. We’ll see how it goes.

9 thoughts on “How do you manage to balance everything?

  1. I understand, Skye–I sacrificed blogging, too, and sometimes I let my e-mails pile up because there is so much to do. Sorry they cut your day job hours. We got laid off on Friday, hopefully not for too long, but it’s a seasonal job and every year the season seems to get shorter. So I’m trying to balance my parents being in a nursing home and me being the only child so I have all the responsibility with day job worries, writing and other stuff. For the first three months of the year, I haven’t been able to do that too well.

    Like

    1. Sorry to hear about your situation as well. I hate being at the whim of bureaucracy and profit over people, which is part of the reason I became an independent consultant, there’s still a lot of things up to the main company, but they are growing and my personal success or failure is really up to me.
      There’s a lot of work and sacrifice involved no matter how you slice it though, and hopefully in the end, it makes us better at what we do.
      Good luck with everything. ❤

      Like

    1. Thanks 🙂 I think a lot of us struggle with it, and hold ourselves up to multiple expectations as writers and bloggers. Maybe one day it will get easier, but until then I’ll just do as much as I can and try not to stress over the rest. Stress kills more productivity than anything.

      Like

  2. I can so relate to this. In fact, my full-time job, BSc Undergraduate course and 17 year-old daughter sound like a comparatively lame set of excuses not to spend as much time writing as I would like to.

    Good luck with everything!

    Like

  3. I have all kinds of respect for those who manage day jobs along with their writing lives.

    Stopping by to welcome you on board the A to Z Challenge April 2014.
    Look forward to your challenge posts! Please consider adding the challenge badge to your sidebar to make it easy to identify your participation.

    Damyanti
    #atozchallenge co-host
    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #azchat

    Like

Leave a Reply

