Who do I please? #IWSG

I missed last month’s post, and I’ve been off and on with social media networking in general. It’s tough enough to write and publish a book, then we have to market and survive the criticism.

I’m resolved to the fact that some people will hate my books, they won’t be for everyone. I’m also resolved to the fact that I can’t possibly write for everyone, and while I look at publishing my work as my business, I have to write for me and me alone.

I understand that writers want to give their readers what they want to buy, but where do we as writers lose ourselves in this process?

Do we give up the projects that make us giddy with excitement to write the book we have to drag ourselves to the computer to write just because the fans demand it?

I’ve seen my friends go through this. I’ve seen them become miserable and disheartened with the process while their dream projects sit on the back burner. It’s all a struggle to balance our passions and our bank accounts.

I write for me, and I make it the best quality I can. I don’t fit into the usual categories–my first paranormal book took flack because there was no heated romance. I even had a beta reader who hounded me through the entire process to add more sexual tension, but I stuck by my decision and I still don’t regret it.

While I still struggle with this balance with every project–and writing in multiple genres only adds to the uncertainty–I tell myself that as long as I’m happy with what I’m doing and the end product is something that I enjoy, I’m on the right track.

β€œNo one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” ~Eleanor Roosevelt

 

11 thoughts on “Who do I please? #IWSG

  1. I love this post, Skye. I have been a self published author since 2009, and I must say I’ve been there. As a writer, all you can do is write for you. I am reading a book titled, ” Automatic Pilot” by Bill Taub (learning how to write spec scripts) and he has a quote, ” Write what you want to see.” When I read that quote, I was like, ” Yes! That’s it. I write what I want to see.” Since then, I’ve been on a role.

    Like

  2. Great quote. Go Eleanor. I am trying hard to navigate it all and reminding myself to remember what it is I like and to do it how I want to do it. I love opinions, but at the end, I have to be happy with what I put out and others be damned.

    Like

  3. I totally agree with writing for yourself – there’s always gonna be some people out there who love what you love. And, yes, some people who don’t. But that’s okay πŸ™‚

    and I think people can tell if you’re writing something you’re not interested in!

    Like

  4. I wrote my latest e-book, “Tasteless Holidays” for my readers who had a lot to say about “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless” and most of it wasn’t good. For the most part, I try to write the kind of books that I want to read, about the average Joe or Jane.

    Like

Leave a Reply

