#IWSG: I can only be me

It’s that the first Wednesday in the month again, which means Insecure Writer’s Support Group Wednesday. Thanks to our noble Ninja Captain Alex J Cavanaugh, it’s time to share our fears and insecurities, or support and assistance. Doesn’t matter which.

If you’d like to join, click here.

Be sure to link to this page and display the badge in your post.

Our hashtag is #IWSG


No, no, no! I’m not ready for it to be the first Wednesday of the month, because I’m too insecure to write about being insecure.

Or maybe I just have the winter blues and need to take another long walk through the woods. A bit of all of the above, I suspect.

Last time, I talked about my insecurities for my then upcoming book, Bend, Don’t Break. This month, I’m happy to report that my freaking out was useless. There were some readers who were disappointed because it wasn’t as dark as the first book, because it had a different feel from the first book, or because my hero and heroin were separated for the first big chunk…. there’s always something.

However, there was also a large chunk who liked it better than the first book and many who liked them equally. Overall that’s a total win! Will it keep me from freaking out about the next book? Oh, I suspect not, but it goes to show yet again, that you’ll never please everyone and all you can do is follow your gut.

I’m supposedly taking this month off, but for me that means I’m not setting any hard deadlines (except maybe getting everything ready for taxes, which I’m sure will be awesome :/ ). Instead, I want to try to focus on being more sociable–possibly the most terrifying part of any project when you have social anxiety.

So, hello world! I’m trying to get to know you better. 🙂 

It’s easy writing characters and their conversations and reactions, but when it’s me on the line and real people interactions…. yeah, not so much. I have no idea what to say, how to start a conversation, or where to go after the conversation begins. I’m sure I’m not the only socially awkward person out there–where are you fellow anxious people?

Okay, I think that’s enough yammering on for one month. I’ll see you all on your blogs and in the comments. 🙂

6 thoughts on “#IWSG: I can only be me

  1. You sound exactly like my daughter!! Being a writer is a lonely business and hard work, and I have to admit, even when I’m with friends I’m thinking about my writing. Take this month and visit with family and friends, the words will come, just like with your books…

    Like

    1. I’m afraid that since I’ve been out of college I don’t do much in-person socializing, especially since most of my friends moved away afterward. Haha, one step at a time I guess, hopefully I’ll get to the in-person stuff as well 🙂
      Good luck! And I hope you have a fabulous holiday season!

      Like

  2. Glad your book was well-received! I thought it might be. 😉

    Socially awkward here, too. I got better for a while when I worked sales-type jobs, but now I’ve lived in a truck for five years and don’t talk to anyone but my husband. Even the holidays are anxiety-inducing now. I have to talk to family members, OMG!

    Like

Leave a Reply

