#SkyeUnbound My 2015 Reading Challenge

reading challengeI decided to take up a personal reading challenge again. Last year I was so caught up in writing I didn’t really keep track of what I was reading, but this year it’s going to change!!

My overall goal is to read 100 books! But for my personal challenge I’m breaking that up into specific categories with a goal number of books I’d like to read in each. I have an idea of some of the books I’ll be reading, but a lot of the lists I’ll continue to fill in over the year as new books are discovered and released.

Industry Books (10)

  1. The Productive Writer
  2. Create Your Writer Platform
  3. Write Great Fiction – Description & Setting
  4. Elements of Fiction Writing: Characters & Viewpoint
  5. The Art And Craft Of Storytelling
  6. Writer with a Day Job (Although I don’t currently have a day job, I have the book and think it will be useful)
  7. The Forest for the Trees: An Editor’s Advice to Writers

Classics (10)

I had to read a lot through college, so some of these will be rereads, and I need to stumble on a few more.

  1. Dracula
  2. The Hobbit
  3. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
  4. Anna Karenina
  5. Leaves of Grass
  6. Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland
  7. King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table

Wildcards (40)

Some of these are outside my normal genre and others are new to me authors. These are books that I’ve noticed because my favorite authors have talked about them, they’ve popped up in recommended reads somewhere, or they’re highly popular/talked about books.

  1. The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice
  2. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  3. The Eight by Katherine Neville
  4. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
  5. Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
  6. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
  7. The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
  8. Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning
  9. First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones
  10. Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
  11. Broken Dolls by Kitty Thomas
  12. Bang by E.K. Blair
  13. Consequences by Aleatha Romig
  14. Owned by M. Never
  15. Seven Sons by Lili St. Germain
  16. The Start of Us by Lauren Blakely
  17. Facade by Ker Duckey and D.H. Sidebottom

Favorite Authors (40)

  1. Dark Debt by Chloe Neill
  2. Lucky Break by Chloe Neill
  3. Howling For You by Chloe Neill
  4. Fear by R.L. Stine
  5. Revival: A Novel by Stephen King
  6. The Colorado Kid by Stephen King
  7. On the Way Home by Skye Warren
  8. Don’t Let Go by Skye Warren
  9. Keep Me Safe by Skye Warren
  10. Second Debt by Pepper Winters
  11. Third Debt by Pepper Winters
  12. Fourth Debt by Pepper Winters
  13. Final Debt by Pepper Winters
One thought on “#SkyeUnbound My 2015 Reading Challenge

  1. I have a goal as always to read 52 books every year. Averaging one a week. One writing craft related book per month. I always beat it. Last year I read 80 something books and probably more as I didn’t log all of them on Good Reads.

    You’re way more organized than me if you already have a list going. I’m a hey here is a book…I’ll read it type of game plan 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

